Skip to Content

Irish Draught Horse Society


Tom McGuigan (Chairman) presents a cheque for £900 to Riding for the Disabled to (l to r) Roy Shields on behalf of Cavallo RDA, Caroline Twemlow and Paddy Hayes on behalf of Birr House RDA. The money was raised at a 'Night at the Races' event and presented at the IDHS AGM.


foal2011Charlotte Moore receives the Trophy for the Foal of the Year for Tullys Tara, a colt by Diamond Design out of Tullys Mist.

thompsontrophySeamus McGillion collects the Thompson Trophy presented for the Yearling of the Year to Vi Wilson's Ardglen Star Lady.

seafintrophyTom McGuigan (Chairman) presents the Seafin Lady Rosebowl for the Broodmare of the Year to Nigel and Charlotte Moore for their mare Tullys Mist.

ironladytrophySean Colhoun collects the Iron Lady Trophy for the Younghorse of the Year on behalf of Madeline Tunney for her 2 year old filly.

hallthompsonRoy Shields accepts the Hall Thompson Trophy for the Performance Horse of the Year for Rockrimmon Razamatazz

ruascupKenny and Wendy Bell accept the IDHS Cup from Tom McGuigan (Chairman) for Castleview Princess who was the Champion Irish Draught mare at Balmoral Show in 2011

The Society held its Annual General Meeting on Monday 16th January 2012 at Gilgood Lodge Upper Ballinderry 13 Moira Road Lisburn BT28 2HQ at 8pm.
Tony McCusker the chairman of ECNI (Equine Council for Northern Ireland) was the guest speaker. He explained the structures purpose and workings of the council.
Branch trophies awarded to members for the 2011 year were presented. The Society made a presentation to Riding for the Disabled.

Tom McGuigan welcomed members and friends to the 2013 AGM of IDHSNI which was held on Monday 14th January 2013 in The Ballinderry Inn, Moira.
Reports of the Society's activities were presented and the 2013 committee elected.